Skip to main content

Entry-Level Driver Training

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has established minimum training standards for entry-level drivers. The Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) requirements incorporate performance-based concepts by requiring driver-trainees to demonstrate proficiency in both behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction and knowledge portions of the curriculum during classroom and range training sessions. The ELDT training curriculum is outlined in 49 CFR 380.

ELDT requirements must be met by individuals who apply for:

  • A Class A or Class B commercial driver’s license (CDL) for the first time
  • An upgrade of an existing CDL to a higher class [Class C to B or A, Class B to A]
  • A school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time

ELDT must be completed before an applicant can take the CDL skills exam.

Individuals applying for a hazardous materials (H) endorsement must complete ELDT prior to taking the endorsement knowledge exam.

Applicants subject to ELDT can find training providers from the public list located on the Training Provider Registry (TPR) website.

Applicants may contact the training provider directly and secure their services outside of the Registry.

The FMCSA TPR will retain a record of which CDL applicants have completed the new training and certification process outlined in the ELDT regulations.

ELDT regulations impact on current Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) holders:

  • ELDT requirements do not apply to individuals holding a valid CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement issued prior to February 7, 2022.
  • ELDT requirements do not apply to individuals who obtain a commercial learner permit (CLP) prior to February 7, 2022, and obtain a CDL before their CLP expires.
  • Any individual who meets one of the exceptions for taking a skills test in 49 CFR Part 383 is also exempt from the ELDT requirements. 

The ELDT regulations and the Training Provider Registry are mandated under the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21)

ELDT is an FMCSA program and is not administered by the Vermont DMV. For more information please select one of the links below or call the FMCSA information line at 800.832.5660 or the FMCSA Vermont Field Office at 802.828.4480.

For the most up-to-date information, check the FMCSA website. The information contained on the Vermont DMV pages is subject to change based on guidance from the FMCSA or any amendment to the federal rules and regulations.

FMCSA Documents

New Training Requirements for Entry-Level CDL Drivers

J. J. Keller® Senior Transportation Safety Editor Jill Schultz answers some key questions