Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Inspection Stations

All motor vehicles registered in Vermont must be inspected once each year at state-approved inspection stations. Any newly registered vehicle not currently inspected in Vermont must be inspected within 15 days of registration.

The fee for the inspection shall be based on the hourly rate of the official inspection station or may be a flat-rate fee. The rate must be prominently posted and displayed beside the official inspection station certificate in either instance.

Vermont statute:

23 V.S.A. § 1222. Inspection of registered vehicles

Fees

  • Inspection Station Certificate - $6.00
  • Inspection Sticker Fee - $6.00

Automotive Resources

  • ASE (National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence)
  • NARSA (National Automotive Radiator Service Association)
  • NASF (National Association for Surface Finishing)
  • NATEF (National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation)
  • NATM (National Association of Trailer Manufacturers)
  • NMA (National Motorist Association)
  • NVFEL - Vehicle and Engine Emissions Testing at the National Vehicle and Fuel Emissions Laboratory
  • SAA (Society of Automotive Analysts)
  • SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers)
  • USEPA - Green Vehicle Guide
  • USEPA - National Vehicle & Fuel Emissions Laboratory

Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

Title ID# Description
Application for Appointment as an Official Inspection Station
VN-016
To apply as an official inspection station.
DMV Inspection Guide
n/a
Quick reference for Vermont inspection stations
DMV Inspector Map
VN-120
Map of regions served by DMV Inspectors along with contact information for each Inspector.
Periodic Inspection Manual
VN-113
Vermont Periodic Inspection Manual (updated December 2019)