Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Truth in Mileage Act

All Vermont titles conform with the Federal Truth in Mileage Act, 49 U.S. Code § 32705.

A separate Odometer Disclosure Statement is not necessary for conforming titles. 

Since January 1, 2021, odometer disclosures are required for every transfer of ownership for the first 20 years, beginning with Model Year 2011 vehicles. Model Year 2010 and older vehicles will continue to be subject to the previous 10-year disclosure requirements and thus are exempt from extended Federal odometer disclosure requirements.

Model Year 2011 or newer vehicles will only be exempt from the odometer rules after 20 years. To comply with Federal law, anyone transferring ownership of a Model Year 2011 or newer vehicle will be required to provide an odometer disclosure to the new owner.  

Model Year 2010 and older vehicles will continue to be exempt from federal odometer disclosure requirements.  Sellers of Model Year 2011 vehicles must continue to disclose odometer readings until 2031. 

Fule Federal Rule is available here.

Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

Title ID# Description
Bill of Sale (BOS) & Odometer Disclosure Statement (ODS)
VT-005
To transfer ownership of a motor vehicle and state current mileage. Odometer Disclosure Statement is required for vehicles model year 2011 or newer.
TAGS: