Skip to main content

Types of Licenses & IDs

Real ID Compliant Driver’s License

A Real ID license may be used for driving purposes and identification.

Real ID generally refers to new federal legislation intended to deter terrorism by implementing several new homeland security regulations. The rules establish the minimum standards, procedures, and requirements that must be met for the federal government to accept a state-issued driver's license or identification card for official purposes. Visit the Real ID page for more information.

Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL)

An EDL is a Real ID Compliant License and a convenient border crossing document for U.S. citizens returning home from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, or Bermuda by land or sea. Must be a Vermont resident and U.S. Citizen. Visit the Enhanced Driver's License (EDL) page for more information.

Driver Privilege Card (DPC)

A DPC is to be used solely for driving purposes. A DPC is marked “Not for Real ID Purposes” and is NOT Real ID compliant. Visit the Driver's Privilege Card (DPC) page for more information.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

Generally, if the vehicle you drive has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more or is designed to carry 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or you transport hazardous material in an amount that must be placarded, then you are required to have a Commercial Driver License (CDL) to operate that vehicle. Visit the Commercial Driver's License (CDL) page for more information.

Non-Driver Identification (NDR)

A Non-Driver ID is an identification card without driving privileges. Any Vermont resident, regardless of age, can get a Non-Driver ID. You cannot have a Vermont Non-Driver Identification Card if you have a valid license in any other state. Visit the Non-Driver Identification page for more information.


Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

Related Forms & Information
Title Sort ascending ID# Description
License Comparison
A comparison of the various license types available in Vermont. This includes Enhanced Driver's License (EDL), Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Real ID & Driver's Privilege Card (DPC). It also includes a document checklist to determine what is required for each license type and a brief description of what each card type can and cannot be used for.