Off-Road Vehicle Titles

All-Terrain Vehicles

Vermont titles vehicles (including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles) that are 15 years old or newer based on the calendar year. For example: from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2019, Vermont will title vehicles with the model year 2005 or newer.​

Exceptions:

  • ATVs owned by the United States (federal government) unless they are registered in Vermont.
  • ATVs owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale.
  • ATVs owned by a non-resident of Vermont whose state of residence does not require a certificate of title for them.
  • ATVs owned by a non-resident of Vermont whose state of residence does require a certificate of title for any such ATV, and the title has been issued or applied for.

 

Snowmobiles

Vermont titles vehicles (including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles) that are 15 years old or newer based on the calendar year. For example: from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2019, Vermont will title vehicles with the model year 2005 or newer.​

Exceptions:

  • Snowmobiles owned by the United States (federal government) unless they are registered in Vermont.
  • Snowmobiles owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale.
  • Snowmobiles owned by a nonresident of Vermont whose state of residence does not require a certificate of title for them.
  • Snowmobiles owned by a nonresident of Vermont whose state of residence does require a certificate of title for any such snowmobile, and the title has been issued or applied for.

 

Motorboats

Vermont titles vehicles (including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles) that are 15 years old or newer based on the calendar year. For example: from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2019, Vermont will title vehicles with the model year 2005 or newer.

Exceptions:

  • Any vessel which is a canoe, kayak, or similar watercraft designed to be manually propelled or such a vessel equipped with a motor of 10 horsepower or less.
  • Any vessel owned by the United States Government, unless it is registered in this state.
  • Any vessel owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale.
  • Any vessel owned by a non-resident of this state and not required by law to be registered in this state.
  • Any vessel regularly engaged in the interstate transportation of persons or property for which a currently effective certificate of title has been issued in another state.

Important: A registration may be required even if a vessel is exempt from titling. For further information, call 802-828-2000.

Vessels Previously Titled in Another State

Verification of the Hull Identification Number (HIN) must be completed by one of the following:

In Vermont:

  • Any certified Vermont law enforcement officer. Note: The officer must enter his/her certification number on the appropriate form.
  • Authorized Vermont Motor Vehicle Department personnel.

Out-of-State:

Personnel from a Motor Vehicle Department or State-level law enforcement only. Verifications completed out-of-state must be accompanied by a statement on official letterhead stationery identifying the person who completed the verification. The verification will be rejected if it contains alterations or erasures.